My application at Cairo University (part III)

This is the third part in a series of articles about applying at Cairo University. You’ll find the first two parts here and here.

This morning, it became very clear to me that a lot of problems in Egypt are made and solved pretty quickly (as a lot of people kept telling me while I was losing faith). Although I’m trying to not be very optimistic, I think today I really made some progress.

I went to the Supreme Council of Universities to ask them how long “the equation” of my degree is going to take. Miss Rasha told me to make 2 copies of all the documents I have to hand in and give them to Mister Samih. When I asked her how long it would take to come to a conclusion, she replied “About two months.” Totally shocked, I mumbled “When will I be able to begin my studies here?!” She explained to me that I need to get this special document from Mister Samih stating that the Supreme Council is currently checking my degree, but is allowing me to start studying at the Faculty of Economics and Political Science anyway.

Miss Rasha didn’t made this short cut up, it’s a totally normal way of avoiding too many trouble with the university’s bureaucracy. In the mean time, the Supreme Council will be reviewing – probably not – my degree, and conclude after two months that I’m qualified to study at the requested faculty, insha’allah. So, in the end, it might turn out well.

This is the third part in a series of articles about applying at Cairo University. You’ll find the first two parts here and here.

2 thoughts on “My application at Cairo University (part III)

  1. Pingback: My application at Cairo University: the end | Jaco Stoop

Leave a Reply

