My application at Cairo University: the end

This is the fourth and last part in a series of articles about applying at Cairo University. You’ll find the first three parts herehere and here.

“So, in the end, it might turn out well.” This is how I ended my last post about this seemingly endless process. The Supreme Council of Universities had given me a letter stating that I have their permission to study at the Faculty of Economics and Political Science. I naively thought that the faculty would follow the Council’s decision, and admit me to the program.

Unfortunately, I was wrong. After having spoken with the director of the faculty, I know that I won’t be able to study at Cairo University this year. She told me that if the faculty would follow the Council’s decision, it would still take almost two months before I could begin my courses. The semester will almost be over by then. So there was only one thing she had to say to me: “Come back next year.” (I’m not sure if I want to study at Cairo University anymore, but I will certainly consider it in my Plan B.)

Today I withdrew myself from the application procedures, and I picked up all the papers I had already handed in. I’m currently working on Plan B, which is actually really simple: find something else to do in the next two months. In the meantime I have to review my options, and find a new master’s program…

This is the fourth and last part in a series of articles about applying at Cairo University. You’ll find the first three parts herehere and here. 

One thought on “My application at Cairo University: the end

Leave a Reply

